Scary discoveries #1: What’s this?

Ingredients: salt, sugar, partially hydrogenated palm oil, cornstarch, dried leek, garlic powder, spices, artificial and natural flavors, turmeric, disodium inosinate, caramel color, TBHQ

This is one of my favorite kitchen helpers: veggie bouillon cubes. I used to think that every soup and sauce would be better if you would throw one of those in there… better definitely doesn’t mean good for you if you take all these ingredients into account.  (I had no idea what TBHQ actually was. After reading about it, I’m sure I don’t want this to be part of our daily diet: http://www.naturalnews.com/031318_TBHQ_food_preservatives.html )

So I’m busy cooking and freezing real beef and chicken stock. I imagine that should work even better when it comes to preparing tasty healthy soups, stews and sauces. But I have to say that the hardest thing about this is really to actually handle all these bones and meat pieces. Yuck! I understand that it’s important to know what you eat. I might need a few more cooking sprees to be completely convinced…

How I make stock:

Chicken stock:

  • 1 whole organic chicken
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 cup of chopped carrots
  • 1 cup of chopped celery sticks
  • 1 handful of parsley
  • ¼ cup of vinegar
  • Fill up pot with water

Bring water with chicken to a boil. Skim off the scum. Add everything else and cook in slow cooker for 16 hours.

Beef stock:

  • 2 pounds of soup bones
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 cup of chopped carrots
  • 1 cup of chopped celery sticks
  • 1 handful of parsley
  • ¼ cup of vinegar
  • Fill up pot with water

Cook in slow cooker for 16-20 hours. ( I know that some people recommend using parts like calves foot to the mix… so far, I can’t get myself to do that…)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

