Sleep and Eat

I am so tired. I haven’t felt so tired since Marta was born 5 months ago. But it seems like her sleeping rhythm is back to the beginning.

What does the tiredness do to me? It makes me hypersensitive and … it makes me crave sweets. I generally don’t have a sweet tooth but I guess in the absence of caffeine my body craves sugar. I wish we could delay Lent. I wish I could say: Let’s just wait until this phase is over…

Obviously, I know that there is always a “phase”. And I know that what my body really needs is good food. But I don’t sound very convincing to myself when I’m trying to survive on 3-4 hours of sleep every night.

This seems to start out as a real challenge. But Lent is a time to let go of excuses for failings and shortcomings; even if they are really good ones …

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Ah yes sleep deprivation! One of the fascinating side affects of parenthood. I just looked at it as an experiment in altered states of reality like some of the philosophers and mystics of old played around with. I know though, so hard. Laugh, cry. Eat good food. Stay out of Trader Joe’s as much as possible.

    Reply
  2. Karen Kohn

     /  February 21, 2012

    Love the truthfulness of this post. You’ve inspired me to examine my food choices and to write a blog. Thanks!! I’ll send you a link soon.

    Reply
  3. Kelly Mella

     /  February 21, 2012

    I know it may not feel like it, but you’re doing a great job juggling everything–I’m amazed you can do it all! And as they say, this too shall pass. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

