Keeping It Simple

I have a preference for simple food. I like to limit my ingredients and to see and taste everything that goes into a meal. I like to eat good food that has enough taste in itself and doesn’t need to be covered in a heavy sauce.

 I noticed, however, that I don’t seem to have a preference for simple thoughts. Quite to the contrary, I seem to get simple potatoes but sink them into a big pot of dark brown sauce. What am I trying to say here? I have a tendency to read into things. People are in a bad mood – I wonder if I did something wrong. People need to leave earlier than originally planned – I try to figure out if they didn’t want to spend more time with me. People don’t include me in an email – I guess they don’t want me to be part of it.

 As it turns out, ninety nine percent of the time, people are just in a bad mood and it has nothing to do with me. People need to leave early because they need to pick their kids up.  And they don’t include me in the email because they don’t want to clutter my mailbox with emails that are really not important to me.

 But why is it so difficult to just accept that something that looks like a potato and tastes like a potato might actually be a potato? Why do we sometimes read so much into things? I think one of the many answers is that simple is actually often harder to do. Cooking with fewer ingredients is often harder. Nothing can be covered up. Making sense of situations without all the contextual information is harder, too. But the question still remains. Why do we so often resort to think the answer has something to do with us. We wouldn’t blame ourselves if the potato we just bought turns out to be rotten or tasteless…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

